museumliner.blogg.se

The inmost light tattoo
The inmost light tattoo





As always Kundera analyses his characters’ motivations, thought processes, their conversations and interactions with other characters as well as highlighting any misunderstandings between them. Although shorter than his early works I still enjoyed reading them.

the inmost light tattoo

So, I had intended to review each book separately but it’s now been over a month since I read them and I have to accept that I’m not going to do it, mainly because they’re starting to blur together in my mind and I usually find that I have to write a review soon after finishing the book or I lose the impetus to do so. Of course as I read them in English translation it doesn’t really make much difference but it was interesting to notice that the style was still recognisably Kundera, the only difference with his older books was that they were shorter and his style was a bit more sparse. Kundera was born in Czechoslovakia in 1929 but moved to France in 1975 and these post-Immortality books were all written in French rather than Czech. After the publication of Immortality in 1990, which is possibly my favourite of his novels, Kundera’s output dwindled significantly his output in this period consisted of Slowness (La Lenteur) (1995), Identity (L’Identité) (1998), Ignorance (L’Ignorance) (2000), The Festival of Insignificance (La fête de l’insignifiance) (2014). Although I had read at least one of them before I wasn’t sure whether I had read the others or not. A little while ago I had the idea of reading the four most recent novels/novellas by Milan Kundera one after the other and reviewing them.







The inmost light tattoo